About the Foundation           

The Wilson Research Foundation was established in 1989 with a seed gift by the H.F. McCarty Jr. Family. The Foundation is a 501(3)(c) nonprofit organization (Tax ID #64-0752440) and serves as the “fundraising arm” of MRC. Mr. McCarty asked that the Foundation be named to honor Earl R. Wilson, founding chairman of MRC, and his wife Martha Lyles Wilson, for their tireless work helping Mississippians overcome disabling obstacles.  

Our Mission

From the very beginning, the Foundation’s focus has been to raise funds to build a research and education program that would establish Methodist as a center of excellence. The very best hospitals are research centers, and as a research center, Methodist is able to attract the best and brightest clinicians and researches who work side by side to move research discoveries quickly into clinical practice. Therapists learn advanced techniques and patients benefit directly from access to the research labs and expertise of our team. The program also has a global impact, with 284 clinical research studies in publication. The result is a world-class research program that helps patients recover physical and cognitive abilities. Learn more about our research here.

Your gifts to the Wilson Research Foundation make this possible. In the past year alone, more than 500 donors gave to support this life-changing work. And the Foundation needs to raise a minimum of $1 Million annually 2019-2021 to meet the research and education needs we forecast here at our center. These monies provide stable funding so that we can retain and recruit prominent research scientists and purchase groundbreaking technology. And this is an excellent investment for Mississippi, as our researchers apply for government and industry-sponsored  research grants. Most of all, your gifts are an investment in people -- everyday Mississippians who are able to return to work, school and independence.  Your gifts change lives.  

Giving Levels

Visionaries $500,000 +
Pillars $200,000 - $499,999
Pioneers $85,000 - $199,999
Sustainers $25,000 - $84,999
Partners $5,000 - $24,999
Fellows $1,000 - $4,999
Friends Up to $1,000


The Wilson Research Foundation is led by a Board of Governors appointed by the MRC Trustees:

Virginia Wilson Mounger (chair)*
Sam Lane (vice chair and fundraising chair)*
Dave Robinson (secretary/treasurer)
Chris Blount (executive director/ex officio)
Gene Delcomyn
Mary Helen McCarty Griffis
Matthew Holleman III*
Katy Houston
Tish Hughes*
Lyn McMillin
Dean Miller (Life Member)
Cy Rosenblatt
Robert Smith, MD
Cal Wells
Marion Wofford, MD
*Indicates concurrent members of the MRC Board of Trustees
The Wilson Research Foundation
1350 E. Woodrow Wilson Drive
Jackson, MS 39216
Office: (601) 364-3598

Donate Now

Ways to Donate

Earl R. Wilson

Funded Projects


Contact Us